Web Resources
The Springdale Public Library purchases, organizes and monitors a number premium online resources that are not availalble on the Internet. Library patrons have access to these resources through the Library's public computers and from home with their library cards.
-
Academic Search Elite (in-library and home access)
- Contains full-text articles from 2,050 scholarly journals dating back to 1985.
-
The African American Experience (The American Mosaic) (in-library and home access)
- Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.
-
African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience (in-library and home access)
- Discusses the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes memoirs, letters, family histories, newspapers, oral histories, and city directories, providing historical evidence to help understand and interpret past events. For high school and college students, as well as general readers.
-
American Civil War Reference Library (in-library and home access)
- Offers comprehensive and wide ranging research options on this compelling era of American history. Material in each of the three titles has been reviewed by an independent advisory board for its curriculum relevance and its accessibility to students in grades 6-12.
-
American History in Video (in-library and home access)
- The largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history offering more than 5,000 titles. The collection allows you to analyze historical events through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
-
The American Indian Experience (The American Mosaic) (in-library and home access)
- The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
Ancestry.com Library Edition (in-library access)
- Delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
ARBA Online (in-library and home access)
- American Reference Books Annual provides in-depth, authoritative reviews. Username: springdalepl2 Password: library
Top
-
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 (in-library and home access)
- An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information. Also features appendix essays on various topics including the music industry, rap, and grunge.
-
Business Source Elite (in-library and home access)
- Contains full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985.
Top
-
Career Information Center (in-library and home access) - This eBook has 694 job profiles. Profiles include work characteristics, training and education, career outlook, salary, advancement. Vol. 13 focuses on trends. Print copy also available in the library. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Chemical and Biological Warfare: A Reference Handbook (in-library and home access)
- This ABC-CLIO online reference book surveys the fundamentals, policies, and strategies of chemical and biological warfare from 1915 to the present.
Chemical Compounds (in-library and home access)
- This eBook defines what a chemical compound is, how elements combine to form compounds, and an A-Z list of compounds and their characteristics. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library
-
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost (in-library access)
- A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Includes content covering all areas of health and wellness from maistream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost (access from home with library card number)
-
Countries and their Cultures (in-library and home access)
- The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.

Critical Survey of Long Fiction (in-library and home access)
- Provides students and general readers with in-depth profiles of major authors in long fiction.
Top
Top
-
Early World of Learning (in-library and home access)
- Early World of Learning is an educational resource focused on reading and oral language skills - just for preschoolers and children in the early grades. Check out the narrated stories, interactive games, interactive reference material for new readers, and more!
-
EBSCOhost Web Collection (in-library and home access)
- The EBSCO Host collection (also available in Spanish) includes information on a variety of subjects. You may search the EBSCO databases individually or in combination to find full text magazine and journal articles, newspapers, television & radio news transcripts, company profiles, industry reports, photos, maps and more. Includes: Business Source Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Health Source – Consumer Edition, Health Source – Nursing/Academic Edition and more.
-
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection (in-library and home access)
- Provides several full text ebooks on a number of topics, including computer science, health and wellness, self-help and more.
English Language Learner Reference Center (EBSCOhost) (in-library and home access)
- Designed for middle/high school students and English language learners, ELL Reference Center provides academic reference materials created specifically for ELL students. Subjects covered include science, math, history, civics, life skills and literature.
-
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) (in-library and home access)
- Contains more than 1.3 million records over 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Extremist Groups: Information for Students (in-library and home access)
- Provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today.
Top

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - (in-library and home access)

Freegal (in-library and home access)
-
Download up to three MP3 songs from your favorite artists each week, absolutely free with a valid Springdale Public Library card! Choose from over a million DRM-free songs that are yours to keep. Songs can be played using any software capable of playing MP3 files, including iTunes and Windows Media Player. Songs can also be burned to CDs, transferred to mobile devices, or downloaded directly to a smart phone or tablet with Freegal's free mobile app. Visit the link above for details!
Top

Gale Discovering Collection (in-library and home access)
-
Comprehensive coverage of core classroom subject areas including literature, science, social studies, history, and more.

Gale Databases (in-library and home access)
-
Comprehensive, cross-searchable databases covering a wide range of topics including literature, sciences, business, environmental studies and more.
x

Gale Virtual Reference Library (in-library and home access)
- Provides access Gale eBooks owned by SPL: Chemical Compounds, Extremist Groups, UXL Graphic Novelists, Career Information Center

Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives (Salem Press) (in-library and home access)
- Biographies of more than 600 notorious historical figures - some controversial, some entirely infamous - and information on their impact on the world.
-
GreenFILE (in-library and home access)
- Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Top
-
Health Source - Consumer Edition (in-library and home access)
- Provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines.
-
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (in-library and home access)
- Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
HeritageQuest (in-library access)
HeritageQuest (home access)
- A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources - rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

History In Context: U.S. (in-library and home access)
- Provides a complete overview of U.S. history covering the most-
studied events, issues and current information. Includes primary sources and journal articles.

History In Context: World (in-library and home access)
- Combines a comprehensive and unique global collection of resources with easy-to-use searching for undergraduate and high school research and curriculums.
Top
Top
Top
-
Kids Search (in-library and home access)
- For grades K-5. Includes magazine articles, primary documents, photos, flags, and reference book articles.
Top
-
The Latino American Experience (The American Mosaic) (in-library and home access)
- Comprehensive, informative, and now even easier to use, The Latino American Experience is the latest version of the first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.

Learning Express Library (in-library and home access)
- LearningExpress Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Patrons will need to use their library card number for their user name.
-
Legal Collection (in-library and home access)
- Contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals.
-
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (in-library and home access)
- Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
-
Little Pim Language Learning for Children (Ages 0-6) (in-library access)
Little Pim Language Learning for Children (Ages 0-6) (home access)
- Language learning for children ages 0-6 from Mango Languages.
Top
-
Magill's Medical Guide/Salem Health (in-library and home access)
- Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format. Addresses recent developments in medicine, diseases and disorders. Access from home requires one-time registration with your email address and your password. After that, users from home can log in using their email address and password. Remote Access Password is your library card number.

Mango Languages (in-library and home access)
- This online language-learning system teaches actual conversation skills for 12 different languages. It's so easy you'll see incredible results after just one lesson.
-
MAS Ultra - School Edition (in-library and home access)
- Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
-
MasterFile Premier (in-library and home access)
- Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
-
MEDLINE (in-library and home access)
- Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
-
Middle Search Plus (in-library and home access)
- Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
-
Top
-
Natural Standard Professional Database (in-library access)
Natural Standard Professional Database (home access)
- Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. The databases cover information on foods, herbs, and supplements and brand name drugs.
-
Newspaper Source (in-library and home access)
- Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
-
NoveList Plus (in-library and home access)
- Search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
-
NoveList K-8 Plus (in-library and home access)
- Designed especially for elementary and middle school students, NoveList K-8 Plus is an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.
Top
-
OneClickDigital Downloadable Audiobooks (in-library and home access)
- OneClickDigital provides free downloadable audiobooks for checkout to Washington County Library System cardholders. Choose from classics and popular favorites, including the top 200 audiobooks from Recorded Books, LLC.
Top
-
Primary Search (in-library and home access)
- Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
-
Professional Development Collection (in-library and home access)
- Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Top
Top
-
Regional Business News (in-library and home access)
- Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Top
-
Salem Health/Magill's Medical Guide (in-library and home access)
- Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format. Addresses recent developments in medicine, diseases and disorders. Access from home requires one-time registration with your email address and your password. After that, users from home can log in using their email address and password. Remote Access Password is your library card number.
-
Searchasaurus (in-library and home access)
-
A beginning search site for children. It incorporates colorful graphics and brief articles on topics of interest to children.

Survey of American Industry and Careers (Salem Press) (in-library and home access)
- Provides comprehensive information about 112 North American industries and related careers.
Top
-
Teacher Reference Center (in-library and home access)
- Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
-
TOPICsearch (in-library and home access)
- Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers and EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
TrueFlix (in-library access)
TrueFlix (home access)
- TrueFlix™ is an online resource that focuses on engaging subject-area content in science and social studies for students spanning grades 3-6. Each TrueFlix subject area is supported with a deep and dynamic reservoir of related content and primary sources featuring videos, audio, images, and text.
-
TumbleBook: E-books for E-Kids (in-library and home access)
- Provides online story books, chapter books, puzzles and games, and language learning.
Top
-
UXL Graphic Novelists (in-library and home access) - Graphic novels -- novels merging pictures and rich language to create a unique experience of literature and art -- are enjoying a renewed popularity, especially with students and young adults. U*X*L's Graphic Novelists introduces researchers to the authors and illustrators behind these works, taking care to define and explore the distinction between comic books and graphic novels.
Top
-
Vocational & Career Collection (in-library and home access)
- This database is designed for vocational and technical libaries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Top
-
World Book Advanced (in-library and home access) -
World Book Advanced includes the entire World Book Encyclopedia, an atlas, a dictionary, and local and country research guides, along with thousands of ebooks and primary sources designed for high school and college students.
-
World Book Online for Kids: (in-library and home access)
- World Book Online for Kids offers easy-to-read articles and engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities designed specifically for young library patrons.
-
World Book Kids (in-library and home access)
- World Book Kids, developed especially for young public library patrons, offers easy-to-read articles and engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.
-
World Book Info Finder (in-library and home access)
- World Book Info Finder includes content and features designed for school-aged patrons’ homework and research needs. Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the site features rich collections of multimedia on a variety of topics, science fair projects; a Biography Center; links to world newspapers, correlations to curriculum standards, 21st century research guides, and much more.
-
World Book Student (in-library and home access)
- World Book Student includes the articles of the World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected Web sites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more.
-
World History Collection (in-library and home access)
- Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.
Top
Top
Top
-
Zinio Digital Magazines (in-library and home access)
- Download popular magazines to your computer or mobile device for free with a valid Washington County Library System library card! Create a free account with your library card, email address and a password of your choosing to gain access to the Library's collection of digital magazines. Then, create a free Zinio account to start downloading and enjoying.
Top